Savory Rhubarb Over Jade Rice

May 9, 2009 at 12:27 AM Leave a comment

Call it beginner’s luck.

I’d never had rhubarb before. I didn’t grow up in the U.S. I’ve never met a rhubarb pie.

When I saw some pretty rhubarb stalks at the organic co-op yesterday, I figured you could cook this thing, but I had no idea how.

So first I looked at it. Looked like a big, red celery stalk. Hmmm.

Then I bit into a thin slice. Interesting. Possibilities…

When I said earlier today I was going to make a savory rhubarb dish, I got a range of responses, from “Ew,” to “I love rhubarb!” Somebody had to be wrong.

This was intuitive cooking with a capital “I.” It was either going to be really, really good, or absolutely awful.

Well, here’s the recipe. You decide.

Ground Turkey in a Savory Mango Rhubarb Medley

2 TBS extra virgin olive oil
1 medium red onion, sliced into half moons
4 large garlic cloves, finely diced
1/4 lb ground turkey breast (light meat)
1/4 lb ground turkey thigh (dark meat)
1 large rhubarb stalk, thinly sliced
1 medium mango (It was staring at me saying “I’m RIPE!”), cut into small chunks
1 large handful of fresh basil, cut into strips
Sea salt, to taste
1 cup rice of choice, cooked (I found a beautiful Jade Rice – white rice infused with bamboo extract – green and gorgeous – so many colors on the plate!)

  1. Heat the olive oil slightly in a large frying pan
  2. Add the onion and garlic, stir over medium / medium-low heat for 5 minutes.
  3. Add turkey, stir in, let cook for 10 minutes
  4. Add rhubarb, stir in, let cook for another 5 minutes
  5. Stir in mango, let cook for another 5 minutes
  6. When the rhubarb is cooked through, stir in basil and turn off heat

Serve over rice and enjoy! We did.

Let me know what you think.

The nutritional value of rhubarb: good levels of calcium, potassium, iron. Those on a low oxalate diet, beware. http://budurl.com/gyq6

Note: If you choose to share this recipe or others on this site, please include a link to this blog along with it. Thanks!

Entry filed under: dairy free, gluten free, intuitive cooking, nutrition, recipe.

Eat Your Stress Away was SOLD OUT! Mixed Feelings About National Fibromyalgia Awareness Day

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS Feed Sign Up

Recent Posts

Tweet with Me!

Categories

Top Posts


