Amazing Avocado Honey Cup (Looking for a new name for this recipe. Got one?)

September 9, 2009 at 1:21 AM 4 comments

Easy? Check.avocado
Delicious? Check.
Versatile? Check.

Only 3 ingredients and NO COOKING involved? YEAH!

I made this recipe up one morning when I wasn’t too hungry for breakfast, needed something filling and satisfying and easy to eat to hold me off until lunch, and I had a bunch of odds & ends in my fridge… as usual when it’s close to the end of the week. And given that I need to manage my blood sugar levels and adrenals carefully due to my fibromyalgia and chronic fatigue tendencies, this was the perfect breakfast – healthy fats, a good dollop of protein, fabulous fiber. For me, this is intuitive “cooking” at its best.

I had this as breakfast, but it can easily be an appetizer or snack (1/2 the recipe).

Creamy, crunchy, sweet, savory, deeeelicious, and nutritious. A great recipe, I say. Let me know what you think.

Oh – and I’m looking for a new recipe name for this. I don’t think what I have is deserving enough. Enter a comment below to send me your ideas!


Avocado Honey Cup

Makes enough for 1 breakfast serving. Have 1/2 for a snack or appetizer, or dessert!

Ingredientshoneyjar

1 ripe avocado, cut in half and seed removed
2 tsp honey (get locally made honey)
1 TBS raw pumpkin seeds

Directions

  1. Prep avocado.
  2. Drizzle honey over both sides.
  3. Sprinkle with pumpkin seeds.
  4. Marvel at how pretty it looks.
  5. Grab a spoon and scoop away!

Variationspumpkinseeds

  • Use ground walnuts, almonds, hazelnuts, or whole sunflower seeds instead of pumpkin seeds
  • Sprinkle with 1 TBS ground flax seed
  • If you’re really hungry, add a side of brown rice bread, toasted, spread with 1 TBS of organic goat cheese or creamy sheep’s milk cheese
  • I haven’t tried this – but if you’re having this for dessert, melt some 70% dark chocolate in a ben-marie (double boiler) and drizzle instead of the honey. WOWEEEEE YUMMYYYY! Believe it or not, avocado and chocolate go really well together. I love making up recipes on the fly. Just thought of this.

If you share this recipe, please include this blurb with it:

This recipe shared with you courtesy of Delicious Health, Inc., a health, nutrition, and lifestyle consultancy whose mission is to transform busy bodies into healthy, balanced beings (TM). Find us at www.enjoydelicioushealth.com or www.delicioushealthblog.com. Have a deliciously  healthy day!

Entry filed under: adrenal health friendly, autoimmune friendly, dairy free, gluten free, intuitive cooking, low oxalic acid content, no nightshade vegetables, recipe, vegetarian. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Hear ye! Hear ye! F*R*E*E 5-Day Virtual Conference: Invisible Illness Awareness Week 2009 SUGAR BLUES! Live Webinar Sept 17, 2009

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Najia  |  September 17, 2009 at 8:14 AM

    I love avocados This sounds delicious.
    Its always good to hear from you and see what you are doing.
    Love,
    Najia

  • 2. Ericka  |  December 7, 2011 at 10:12 AM

    This was so yummy. I have just become aware of my food sensitivities. This came in real handy. Thanks for sharing.

  • 3. Simla  |  December 7, 2011 at 10:32 AM

    You’re welcome, Ericka! Glad you enjoyed it. And I’m also glad that you’ve been discovering your food sensitivities – there’s a lot of freedom and relief that comes with working with your body in that way!

  • 4. Simla  |  December 7, 2011 at 10:42 AM

    Hi Najia! I miss you, goddess!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


RSS Feed Sign Up

Recent Posts

Tweet with Me!

Categories

Top Posts


